Wheat Allergy

Wheat Allergy

Wheat Allergy - How to Deal with Wheat Allergy - Reasons for Wheat Allergy - Proteins in Wheat | Tips on - Find TipsMany people are allergic to wheat products. Individuals might be allergic to one or more of the proteins present in wheat. The four types of protein present in wheat grain are gluten, globulin, albumen and gliadin. The allergic reactions results in several complications, such as asthma, abdominal pain, diarrhea, conjunctivitis, rhinitis, uriticaria, angiodema and eczema. If you are allergic to gluten present in wheat, then you might be intolerant towards other grains, such as barley, oat and rye. Gluten intolerance, also known as celiac disease is different from wheat allergy.

Reasons for wheat allergy

It is not quite clear why some people develop wheat allergy. Genetic factors might cause wheat allergies among members of a family. Generally, children are mostly affected by wheat allergy. The digestive system of an individual matures with age and consequently the adult body is less likely to absorb ingredients from food responsible for allergies.

Foods to be avoided

The diet for people suffering from wheat allergy should be free from wheat products. Before buying ready to eat foods, check their label to see whether they contain wheat as an ingredient. Avoid products made out of whole wheat, wheat flour and wheat bran. Breads, buns, cakes, pastries and biscuits should be avoided. Before picking up a breakfast cereal check whether it has wheat or wheat bran as an ingredient. Often sauces, ready to eat soups, gravies and stews contain wheat flour as a thickening agent. Soya sauce and monosodium glutamate found in Chinese food should be avoided. Several chocolates and sweets contain wheat. Alcoholic drinks made from wheat, such as beer, gin and certain varieties of vodka and whiskeys should not be consumed. Certain tinned products including processed meat, sausages, hamburgers, black puddings might contain wheat. Semolina, spaghetti, pastas, macaroni are largely made from wheat flour. Mustard and various types of powdered mixed herbs and spices might contain traces of wheat.

Wheat substitutes

While cooking or baking at home, instead of using wheat flour, you can use rye meal, rye flour, potato starch, and potato flour, rice flour, rolled oats or oat flour. You can even mix each of these ingredients to replace wheat flour in your dishes.

Acording with the Digital Millennium Copyright Act (“DMCA”), Pub. L. 105-304 If you believe that your copyrighted work is being infringed, notify our team at the email [email protected]

@[email protected] diet health

MORE ABOUT Wheat Allergy